雷蒙德 · 奧迪 (Raymond Audy)

雷蒙德 · 奧迪(Raymond Audy)與曾海文於1951至1952年間於巴黎國立東方語言文化學院相識,此後一直是摯友,直至曾氏1991年離世。

雷蒙德仍記得這位曾長期於巴黎拉丁區某酒店居住的優雅年青人與他見面時,絕大部份時候都會身穿剪裁完美的西裝。當時曾海文每個月仍然收到其越南絲綢商人父親的經濟支助,令他可以在最佳狀態下享受巴黎的生活。雷蒙德跟大部份真正巴黎居民一樣,來自法國其他省份 — 他的故鄉為杜爾;他的家族於當地盧瓦爾河畔擁有一座由一名劇院老闆建造的巴洛克式大宅 — 加路連別墅 (Villa Caroline)。雷蒙德熱愛劇場、詩詞及文學;曾海文亦曾加入索邦大學古典戲劇組。大約在1952至1953年期間,曾氏決心投入鑽研繪畫藝術;可惜其家人在1954年開始,停止每個月給他匯款。曾海文主要繪畫風景、植物、花卉、人像及靜物。雷蒙德向他購入了部份畫作以示支持;之後他一直致力收藏更多曾氏的作品。曾海文於杜爾逗留期間,以大宅內俯瞰四周鄉村景色的房間「鴿巢」作為場景繪畫了一幅畫:一位優雅的棕色頭髮女士坐在桌子旁,她的面前有一本翻開了的書,一些水果和鮮花。她的一隻手緊貼在臉上,帶著溫婉平和的目光望向觀賞者。在她身後,一扇寬廣的窗敞開著,連接村落裡一眾屋脊和豐沃的田園。那是個夏天,曾海文驚動了這位正在冥想的美人;除非他是要宣告她的來臨… 因為不久之後,雷蒙德前往觀看一個劇場演出時,愛上了劇中一名女演員 — 卡露蓮‧瓦爾德 (Caroline Waldé),她後來成為了他的妻子。該幅畫作在成為其中一個巴黎重要藝術品收藏家的藏品前,一直懸掛在奧迪家族大宅飯廳的牆上超過四十年。

曾海文,無題,1955年,油彩 畫布

雷蒙德在阿爾及利亞當兵時與詩人馬克‧埃林 (Marc Alyn)成為朋友,並在1960年將他介紹予曾海文認識。2018年,馬克在其自傳《時間是俯衝的獵鷹》獻給曾海文的篇章中寫道:「他妙手所生的花,蜜蜂也來歇息」。他亦將於 2019 年3月底出版向曾海文致敬、插圖配上曾氏畫作的詩集《朦朧的曾海文—墨跡紀念冊》

曾海文在他人生餘下的這段時間內,每個月也會跟奧迪-瓦爾德 (Audy-Waldé)家族相聚共進午餐或晚餐。雷蒙德指曾海文「大部份時間都花在練習行使他的自由」。某個星期日,曾海文在他們家用過午饍後感到不適,並在後來確診感染愛滋病。奧迪-瓦爾德一家一直照顧他,直至他於1991年9月9日離世。

當我進行有關曾海文的研究,以及面對其後一連串並現在已成為曾海文作品史一部分的法律訴訟時, 雷蒙德, 卡露蓮, 卡露蓮的姐姐珍妮‧瓦爾德(Janine Waldé) 和雷蒙德與卡露蓮的兒子法布里斯(Fabrice) 成為了是我最堅實的支援。- 古獨奇

Raymond Audy

Raymond Audy and T'ang Haywen met in Paris in 1951 or 1952 at the École des Langues Orientales and were close friends until T'ang's death in 1991.

Raymond remembered meeting this elegant young man, most of the time dressed in a perfectly cut suit, and who lived all year round in a hotel in the Latin Quarter. Haywen at that time still received from his father, a silk merchant in Saigon, a generous monthly payment that allowed him to enjoy Paris under the best conditions. Raymond, like most true Parisians, came from the provinces, from his native Touraine, where his family owned a baroque house - Villa Caroline - built by a theatre owner on the banks of the Loire. Raymond was a great lover of theatre, poetry and literature and Haywen had joined the troupe of the Antique Theatre of the Sorbonne. In 1952-53, T'ang decided to devote himself to painting, but from 1954 his family stopped sending monthly payments. T'ang paints landscapes, plants, flowers, portraits and still-lifes. Raymond supports him by acquiring works that he will collect all his life. During a stay in Touraine, T'ang paints a picture set in the "pigeon house" of the villa, a room that dominates the surrounding countryside: a brunette and elegant woman sits at a table in front of an open book, fruits and flowers. With one hand pressed against her face, she looks at the spectator with gentleness and serenity. Behind her, large windows open onto the rooftops of the village and the productive fields. It is summer and T'ang surprises this beauty in the midst of meditation; unless he announces her coming... because some times later Raymond attends a theatrical performance and falls in love with one of the actresses, Caroline Waldé, who will become his wife. The painting remained hanging on the wall of the house's dining room for more than forty years, before joining an important Parisian collection.

T'ang Haywen, Untitled, 1955, oil on canvas

Raymond served as a soldier in Algeria where he met the poet Marc Alyn, whom he introduced to T'ang in 1960. in 2018, in his memoirs, time is a falcon that dives, Marc Alyn devotes a chapter to T'ang and writes: "On the flower corollas born from his hand, bees come to rest". At the end of March 2019 Marc Alyn will publish a collection of poems in homage to T'ang - T'ang l'obscur, Mémorial de l'Encre - illustrated with works by T'ang.

For the rest of his life, T'ang will go once or twice a month to dinner or lunch with the Audy-Waldé family. Raymond said of him "that he spent most of his time exercising his freedom". It was after a Sunday lunch at their home that T'ang, feeling very unwell, discovered that he had contracted AIDS. The Audy-Waldé family watched over him until his death on 9th September, 1991.

"Raymond, Caroline, Janine Waldé his sister and Fabrice Audy the son of Caroline and Raymond have become for me the most unwavering support, both in my research on T'ang and in the legal battles that followed and that are now part of the history of T'ang Haywen's oeuvre." - Philippe Koutouzis