知己良朋

在1948至1991年間,曾海文經常旅遊,並廣交不同背景、信仰或價值觀的朋友。在眾多的朋友網絡當中,他們彼此都不知道對方存在,而唯一的共通點就是他們都是與曾氏成為朋友。曾海文會以一封信預告他的到訪,然後朋友們對他熱烈歡迎接待,之後他又會無聲無色地消失。不可知論者、同時是曾氏最好的朋友雷蒙德 · 奧迪稱曾海文「以大部份時間行使他的自由」。巴黎外方傳教會福音派的Hirigoyen神父認為曾海文就像「一道微風,同時擁有恆久不變,獨立,溫柔及細緻的特點。」在羅馬認識曾海文的畫家巴爾蒂斯看見他的水墨畫作,認為它們體現了中國的精神。

曾氏從沒有委託朋友代表他進行商討有關展出其作品的事情。不過,部份朋友卻非常主動作出幫忙。1972年,博物館策展人Claude Fournet於法國萊薩布勒多洛訥的聖十字修道院展出了曾氏的作品。1975年,牛津阿什莫林博物館策展人Mary Trégéar展出了他的雙連畫作品。於1983至1984年間,法國博物館總監主席Dominique Ponnau吉美博物館策展人戴浩石協助下,促成了在坎佩爾美術館及維特雷城堡博物館舉行的展覽。

曾氏雖然認識眾多藝術界的知名人士,但他仍然選擇相對地低調,這至今仍令不少人感到意外。他亦因而在當時居於法國、尋求得到認可的一眾同時期的中國畫家中,維持其獨特性。

遠赴法國定居的曾海文已完成了他的目標,也是其作品的一個重要元素:獲得完全的自由。

Friends

From 1948 to 1991, T’ang travelled a great deal and befriended people from all walks of life, irrespective of their beliefs or opinions. His numerous networks of friends were unaware of each other’s existence having only a friendship with T’ang in common. A letter would announce his arrival and he would be received with open arms, then he would simply disappear. Raymond Audy, an agnostic publicist and his closest friend, declared that T’ang "spent most of his time in the exercise of his freedom". Father Hirigoyen, an evangelical priest of the Paris Foreign Missions Society felt that T’ang was like "a breeze, both constant and discrete, gentle and nuanced". The painter Balthus who met T’ang in Rome saw revealed in his ink washes a manifestation of China’s spirit.

T'ang never asked of a friend to intercede on his behalf in order to exhibit his paintings. Some friends however chose to take the initiative. In 1972, museum curator Claude Fournet, exhibited T’ang’s work at the Abbaye Sainte-Croix in Sables-d’Olonne. In 1975, Mary Trégéar, curator at the Ashmolean Museum in Oxford exhibited his diptychs. In 1983-84 Dominique Ponnau, Head of the Museums of France General Inspectorate, assisted by Jean-Paul Desroches, curator at the Guimet Museum, instigated the Quimper and Vitré museum exhibitions.

Many are surprised today that T’ang though personally acquainted with so many well-known figures in the arts, chose himself to remain relatively obscure. In this he remains distinct from other contemporary Chinese painters in France who diligently pursued recognition.

T'ang, setting foot on French soil had already achieved a goal, essential to his painting: that of his freedom, in absolute value.